Animated Postcard

Font-Poem-01

For this assignment, we used our font poems and ecollage to created an animated GIF postcard. With this design, I wanted to create a GIF that was fun to watch and that also represented the poem. I decided to make the time in between each transition not that long so that the audience would not get bored. I also decided to keep the font poem up the whole time so that the audience could read it. I also like how it does not go away so that the reader does not struggle to read one art at one time before it disappears.

During this project, I faced many challenges. My first problem was that I did not have enough space on my personal macbook pro to add the animation to the font poem and ecollage. This was very frustrating to me because it would not let me edit the design. I solved this problem by bringing the design on a different computer in the lab here at school because there was enough space to work with it.

What I found was new in this project was adding the animations into a design. I had never learned how to do that in photoshop; I did not even know that this was even a feature in photoshop.

What I enjoyed most about the project was creating a collage that lowed easily with my poem and could be made into a GIF. I enjoyed learning new features of photoshop as well.

In relation to this project, I am most proud that despite my obstacles in the beginning with the animations, I found a way to persevere beyond the frustration and find a solution. Usually when I hit a bump in the road with a design, I get frustrated and quit, but not this time.

If I had more time, I would have broken up the text to make the GIF longer. This means that I would have a transition for every line of the font poem. Maybe I would have created a different order for the background images.

Leave a comment